I see Jog Falls Crying!

Posted: September 24, 2008 in Opinions, Travel
Tags: ,

7th Sep, 2008. Its not the first time that I am going to see her but still the same energy is there in the air. I remember the good old days when I first saw her. Gosh! She is so beautiful. I am eagerly waiting to see the glimpse of her smile.

There she is. As gorgeous as ever. Again, she welcomed all of us with the same beautiful smile. 🙂

Jog

Jog Falls

It was drizzling a bit and slowly fog was trying to cover her beauty. We thought of trekking down to enjoy the jog bath as planned earlier. Suddenly, a notice board caught my attention.

Notice board

Notice board

What the heck? What steps? My heart started beating fast because of the weird thoughts coming to my mind, and then, I was taken aback by the steps they are constructing.

Steps ready to take you down

Steps ready to take you down

I looked at the steps, then at her. Then I saw her tears hidden behind that false smile, really I see her crying!

Yes, I think The Jog Development Authority has decided the make the way down the falls a cake-walk by constructing concrete steps. Its half done and may be will get over soon.

Half done construction work

Half done construction work

More Pillars ready for more Steps

More Pillars ready for more Steps

But have they given enough thought on its consequences? I don’t think so. Jus look at the below pics.

Plastic cups

Plastic cups

Waste wrappers

Waste wrappers

My god! Every where plastic wastes. I don’t know why they don’t have a single dust been down there. Even more, I couldn’t even locate a bin near the parking place either. Jog is such a famous tourist spot and I even heard that they are planning to make it “AN ALL-WEATHER TOURIST SPOT” by using some German technology called reverse pumping technology which is well and good. But my worry is pollution. And I feel the construction of steps is adding more fuel to the pollution fire. I see comparatively more shops there now who sell cool-drinks, tea, coffee, palav and what not.

Shop

Shop

Who is responsible for this increasing Pollution? Every one, for different reasons. The visitors, The shop owners and the Authority as well. I don’t know how much its sensible to have the concrete steps here but here is what I saw.

Jog.. Behind the bars..

Jog.. Behind the bars..

Final words: Please do your part of job to reduce the pollution, at least when you visit such natural beauties.

Comments
  1. Roopa says:

    Really very goooooood one 🙂

  2. Gangadhar says:

    Thank you Roopa.. 🙂

  3. Shajad says:

    Ya, really too gud…

Leave a Reply

